Fish Names Committee

The Australian Fish Names Committee is established under FRDC, an accredited Standards Development Organisation. The committee assigns standard fish names in accordance with transparent. and rigorous FRDC standards development policies and procedures.

Committee Membership (as at 01 May 2019)

Independent ChairGus DannounAustralian seafood industry AppointeeRenee Pearce
Fisheries Agencies AppointeeJason Gibson as nominee and coordinate attendance with Sean SloanRecreational Fishing AppointeeRussell Conway
Expert Member (Seafood Marketing and Fish and Invertebrates Taxonomy)Don TumaExpert Member (Seafood Imports)Mark Boulter
Expert Member (Hospitality)Glenn AustinExpert Member (Major Supermarkets)Hamish Allen
Expert Member (Fish Taxonomy)Gordon YearsleyExpert Member (Seafood Marketing)Anni Conn
Expert Member (Seafood Processors)Anthony MercerDepartment of Agriculture and Water Resources representative​Lisa McKenzie
​CSIRO Fish Taxomony representativeKaren Gowlett-HolmesExpert Member (Master Fish Merchants' Association of Australia representative)​Kerry Strangas

SDO Representatives (Non-voting)

Nicole Stubing FRDC
Peter Horvat FRDC

Project Management

Alan SnowProject Manager
Meaghan DoddCo-Investigator

Fish Names Committee members are appointed by the Board which must ensure that the committee possesses appropriate skills and knowledge.

Nominate to join the
Fish Names Committee

Apply Here